Saturday, February 22, 2014
5 weeks out.....
5 weeks out, still seems a ways away. Looking forward to that 4 week out marker to make it more in reach. Last week was good, although I did hit two low days. It was due to lack of sleep.....which is so important to be getting during time of prep. I am still feeling pretty good over all, happy with where I am at. I am weighing in this a.m. at 135.6. Very happy. Hitting posing practice today, then cardio, sprints to be exact, YUK! I tried on my suit last Tuesday and my trainer is very pleased with my legs, which has always been hard for me to work, get definition. She is looking at getting me to 133, and seeing where I am there. If I look to lean, then we will add more protein to my eating, which will just add more weight in muscle. Being that I only have a little over 2 pounds to loose in 5 weeks, is a bit scary for me. I am afraid that I will gain, or at last minute have to shed off weight. So far loosing this time around has been by far easier for me, and that scares me. I know how to loose, I know how to gain, but I am scared and don't know how to maintain exact weight. It's a little overwhelming, but I am trying to not think about it and just go with with each day. This kinda of training you have to take it day by day. Still eating everything the same. LOVING my rice cake and peanut butter part of my day, always wanting another when I am done;-) Even though I have a lot going on in my life, I am doing my best to balance it all, be momma to my wonderful kids, wife to my supportive hubby, a great co-worker at my job, 100% with training and taking on a new life adventure. I know my social life has been put on hold, but I know what I am doing for my future, for myself and family is worth it. I have learned through all this and learned with taking on this new life adventure, that it's about priorities. We are NEVER "too busy". I hear everyone say how they are too busy, they don't have time for anything. Well I am a believer that we are never to busy for what we really want, or want in our lives, it's all about priorities. If it's a priority in our life, we make time for it. I make my family, my work, my passion, my dreams/goals, my friends,all a priority in my life. "Life is a balancing act".
Saturday, February 15, 2014
6 weeks out...feeling better
6 week marker and lost the two pounds I gained and down to 137.2. Happy with that and realize stress does NOT help in this process. Made it through Valentine's Day, was a little bitter in the end due to not getting my wine and ice cream..LOL! This sport is ALL Discipline! My friend has decided to do the competition with me and I am just soooo happy to have her along this journey with me. Makes it more fun, more enjoyable and it's nice to have someone to talk to that can fully relate to my emotions. My trainer ideally was thinking she wants me at 134 ish...depending on what I look like as I near that or get to that. If that is the case, then I only have 3 lbs to go in 6 weeks. HMMMMM.....I think I can do that. As long as I keep getting my peanut butter and rice cake, I am content. Hitting weights today, then spin, going to be a great day. I just hope I can maintain when I get to my goal weight and not gain. It's a very hard balance to maintain a weight when you know exactly what to do to loose, but to stop that and maintain, to me is a challenge. Had a much better week, (besides Valentines) than last week. Hoping and praying it stays like this. Happy Saturday. This post is short and sweet, ending with "Discipline the one thing necessary to achieve any goal worth having"
Saturday, February 8, 2014
7 weeks out and Grumpy.....
7 weeks out and I am laying around with a pinched nerve, (which I get from time to time tha is stress induced) I am grumpy today and feel like pooooh!. I don't have time for a pinched nerve, moms don't have time to sit out. I know I need to listen to my body, but all I can think of is all I need to do, get my cardio in, prepare for my mom's retirement party being held tomorrow, and study. Thank goodness my hubby is home from being out of town as he can take care of the kids, household part of things. I also for some reason gained 2 lbs back. I was down to 138.6 and now back to 140.2. It could be numerous reasons why, but when your in prep mode and not loosing, let alone gaining a pound messes with the mind. I know I still have plenty of time, it's just a set back that comes along with training, and life. I keep focused on the bright side, which is having about 6 lbs to loose and I am ahead of the game compared to last season of prep. I just gotta keep my mind set, and work hard still, as it is what it is. Doesn't help it' raining either. Even though we soooooo NEED this rain, it isn't good for uplifting the mood. I know it sounds like I am complaining a lot, but I want to share my honest feelings as I go through this "on season" prep. I plan to post at each countdown, week mark. 7 weeks left, I still got this, just gotta pull through this grumpy part, set back, and keep moving forward. For now I will rest, (how do you do that???) and let my body heal so I can give 100%!
Wishing you all a HAPPY weekend.
Quote of the week: "Setbacks and Stressors are bridges to be crossed to our goals, not barricades to keep us from them" ~ Stephen Pierce
Wishing you all a HAPPY weekend.
Quote of the week: "Setbacks and Stressors are bridges to be crossed to our goals, not barricades to keep us from them" ~ Stephen Pierce
Saturday, February 1, 2014
8 weeks out
I finally have a marker, 8 weeks out. Still a lot of time...but it's a countdown in my mind which I seem to work better mentally with. I need a marker, countdown visually to set my mind up better. These last 2.5 weeks have been hard, I have been very tired and my energy is low. I am a VERY energetic person so to have that, any of that taken away, is not good for me. It's un-motivating and I hate the feeling of having no energy. I know it's my body adjusting, and I know it's because I started this "prep" mode already doing bigger amounts of cardio. I have slimmed up my cardio here and there as I don't need to do that much right now. It's helped a little. I have a 10k race for tomorrow, that I was focusing on my time more than anything. With this "lean" eating though my time has not been where it should be:-( I am able to have a little pasta tonight (EEEKKKK) and do what I need to do for breakfast to give me the proper fuel to get me through this race. I have realized I could never do a half marathon or another race during comp time. I know how to train for competitions and I know how to train for running races, I don't know how to intertwine the two, as my body can NOT handle both at the same time. On a good note, I have lost 5 lbs., in the 2.5 weeks, which is keeping me hanging in there. That is huge in my eyes as that leaves me about 5-6 pounds left to go in 8 weeks. So very do-able, and won't leave me stressed. As draining as this "on season" can be, I do really love it. I look back and I appreciate at age 38, what I can mentally push my body to do. I LOVE seeing my body take shape, build muscle, get and stay healthy. It amazes me what we ALL are capable of doing if we really commit. We ALL have it in us to do what we really want to do, it's mind over matter, it's pulling out the will power we all have and using it. Nothing comes easy, we have to work hard if we really want something. I really want this, so I am working my butt off and to not forget doing so while being a working mom, wife. It's a challenge itself to juggle this with our lives and not have this comp consume our lives. I take my shows one show at a time. As long as the passion lives in me, as long as I don't let it consume my whole life, as long as I have my hubby and family support, as long my body allows me, I will do a show. Show by show. Keep this in mind with anything you are thinking of pursuing in life....."Don't wish for it, WORK for it" Happy Saturday to you all....
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)